top of page

What's on my hook/needles...April


Just when you think you've got a handle on life...you find out you're having a tiny human and it all goes out the window! That's my latest excuse anyway for not updating my blog since *gasp* September...last year!

Enough of the excuses though, you're here for the yarny stuff right?! So, what have I actually been working on since September? It would be entirely accurate to say a lot and not a lot! As an eternal project starter and non finisher it feels like I always have a lot on the go but let's start with...

...a finished knitted shawl AND a finished crochet hat! I'm sure it flies in the face of yarn etiquette to wear knit/crochet together but these two items are made with the same yarn so make a great matching pair! The crochet hat is made using Vicki Brown's Skipton Hat pattern and the shawl is made using the Caravan of Love Pattern by Potter and Bloom. Both are made using my Pebble and Beach Breeze colour ways on my 4ply merino/nylon base. To make the hat I held two strands together as the pattern technically calls for DK weight, I love the effect I got doing this and really want to try it out again.

Next up is the Battenburg Blanket, a scrappy crochet blanket design by Sandra of Cherry Heart. This one is going to be a true labour of love and I have no plans to finish for a while as I really want to take my time collecting minis and pouring love (and colour) into it. The original plan was for this to be a baby blanket but I quickly realised that the combo of baby secretions and hand dyed yarns may not be the best idea! As a result of that, on to my next blanket WIP...

Acrylic yarn seems a much better idea for baby makes (and I have a lot in my stash) so I am making the gorgeous Spring Garden Hexie Blanket by In the Yarn Garden. I want it to be a little bigger than the pattern dictates so am crocheting up more of these gorgeous hexagons than the pattern usually requires. As you've probably guessed I'm not a fan at all of blue=boy and pink=girl so the blanket will be a whole range of bright colours (that completely don't match the nursery, oops!). This pattern and the Battenburg are my go-to WIPs for when I want something fairly mindless to work on and I'm finding them both a really relaxing make.

I can't believe I'm admitting this but yep, my planned Advent Socks...the ones I was going to work on every day during December and wear in January...well, you can see for yourself. Epic fail. Next Christmas maybe?!

An actual finished item! I crocheted this baby bonnet using Hobbycraft's Leader of the Pac yarn and a pattern by Danyel Pink. It was only when I finished the bonnet that I remembered I'm having an early Summer baby so the wear bambino is going to get out of this is going to be minimal!! With that in mind I have now started a knitted baby jumper with the same yarn...in a bigger size...you live and learn!

I would love to say that this is now an up to date list of my WIPs and makes since September last year but I will be honest and admit that these are the ones I have pretty pictures of! Also still on the go? A crochet shawl by the lovely Rosina of Zeens and Roger, an amigurumi frog from the Pica Pau book by Yan Schenkel, a knitted shawl by Tamy Gore, a crochet cardi by Iron Lamb, oh and ANOTHER crochet shawl by Toni Lipsey of TL Yarns and numerous, endless socks (both crochet and knitted).....still with me?!

One day I will get organised, but I think that day won't be for a looong time with a small human soon to enter and wreak havoc on our lives! Thanks for bearing with me during my creative hiatus and a HUGE thank you to everyone who has subscribed to the site lately, it is a pleasure to have you here listening to my rambles!

x

p.s - if you want to find out more about any of the (many) patterns I've mentioned give me a shout, most are on Ravelry but I'm always happy to point you in the right direction.

bottom of page