top of page

What's on my hook/needles...June, 2019


I have struggled with my creative mojo throughout my pregnancy but always thought that, when I went on maternity leave, a crochet/knitting demon would be unleashed and I would be whipping up blankets and baby clothes left right and centre....hmmm.

In reality, I am so huge and grumpy that a ball of yarn at the other end of my sofa seems like an unconquerable distance away for me to reach!

All is not lost however and not all of my works in progress have been left unloved. In particular I am loving my colourful Spring Garden Hexie Blanket and am pretty much on the finishing straight with it now. Only a last minute change of mind on the border and a lost game of yarn chicken has held me back from finishing already.

Also making progress is the crochet shawl I mentioned last time by Toni Lipsey. The pattern is the Bronwyn Shawl which was originally part of a CAL I had intended to follow a long with but...yknow, crojo decline : (

I feel like I'm winging this one slightly as, although I am using DK weight yarn, I'm not using the alpaca or merino suggested so I'm a little unsure on the drape I'm going to get. I'm using Stylecraft Life DK in Fern, Copper and Olive which is giving me quite an autumnal vibe at the mo (in June!). The yarn is a blend of acrylic and wool so fingers crossed I don't end up with a really stiff shawl that looks a million miles from the lovely pics Toni shows online of this pattern.

A project that came a little out of the blue is this crochet pram blanket. The pattern features in this fab vintage booklet my Patons and I started making in for the Vintage Make A Long being hosted by the lovely Clarisabeth of CrochetCakes.

I decided to tweak it a little by adjusting the size and also by crocheting in stripes rather than one solid colour. I'm hoping this is a good way to work my way through some of my DK acrylic stash...although as you'll see from this pic, a small order of more yarn may have been placed with Knitting Network! I'm making the blanket in the colours of our nursery which has a woodland vibe.

Crikey, even writing this blog post feels like tiring work...who knew that having a baby would be so life consuming right?!! ; )

I expect when little one arrives all my crochet/knit time will evaporate but I still cling to the hope that this is not the case, bambino has to sleep some time (fingers crossed!). If there are any mums out there who have any tips I would love to hear them as I'm about to make a step into the unknown and it's rather bloomin scary!

bottom of page