top of page

What's on my hook/needles...September, 2020


A huge welcome to everyone who is new to my blog, I've had a few new faces subscribe lately which is an absolute delight and gives me such a drive to keep sharing my yarny adventures here on my site. So, what am I getting up to this month?

In August we had Granny Square Day and, rather shockingly, I realised I only had one granny project on the go. But it's a goodun. My Battenburg Blanket is a super long term project, I have no plans to finish it any time soon and that is fine by me. I'm loving the reliability of this project which is totally down to the humble granny square. Each square is meditative to create and the coloured sections are a lovely reminder of when/where/who I bought the yarn from. A lot of my own yarn is featured in this blanket too so it is almost becoming a diary of my dyeing adventures. This pattern is by Sandra of Cherry Heart, you can find all the details you need to make it here.

My Nobody's Perfect Shawl is also a slow and peaceful project for me and one that has taken on a new significance since my lovely granny died earlier this year. It is a riot of colour, joy and randomness which sums up my granny (aka Ga-Ga) pretty well! It makes me think of her every time I work on it so I'm planning on adding a good chunk more to it this month. The end weaving on this shawl is an absolute killer but the fun of seeing the random colours clash balances out this annoyance! This pattern is by Emma of Potter and Bloom and can be found on her site for free here.

Another crochet project I will be working on this month, and one that I suspect will be my main project going forward, is the Revival Jumper by Heather of HG Crochet Designs. You may know Heather from her YouTube channel, if not, go check her out. The crochet community needs new faces that have the talent and enthusiasm that Heather clearly has in abundance. I'm actually still perfecting my yarn/colour choices for this project so no photos yet...stay tuned! You can buy this pattern from Heather's Etsy shop, spoiler, it's a really well written and extensive pattern!

So, what's on my needles this month? Socks! I always get a sock knitting boost at this time of year but what I don't ever seem to achieve is a pair of socks! I fell in love with this sock made using my Hot Chocolate on the Beach colourway combined with Sand for the cuff, heel and toe so would LOVE to give it a partner.

I’m ridiculously close to finishing the sock on the right here in this image, it’s made using my Seaside Mini Skein Set and the pattern is by Coop Knits. It’s her scrappy sock pattern and is a super casual knit a long that was happening via her Insta page...go check it out! I've really enjoyed this sock as it has challenged my newbie knitting skills. I'm possibly doing myself a disservice calling myself a newbie still as I'm reasonably confident now...its just garment making that eludes me still.

As a yarn dyer one of the questions I get asked most is “what does this yarn look like knitted?”. Whilst I do have some knit samples I’m still way be where I want to be with my yarn samples...this is mostly down to my snail pace knitting! I decided this month to change this by knitting something that has ALL my colours in it. Step up the Litmus Cowl! This bold pattern is by lovely Amy of Stranded Dyeworks and can be found via Ravelry here. I will be sharing photos of my Litmus Cowl on Insta soon and here on the blog next month!


As usual I also have a myriad of other projects that float in and out of my hands...usually when I discover a project stuffed down the side of the sofa that I forgot I was even working on!


Let me know what you're working on this month, have you started planning your Autumn makes yet or are you still clinging to Summer?

x



bottom of page