top of page

What's on my hook/needles...October 2020

I will keep it super short this month, mostly because I don't have an awful lot to show! My procrastinating levels have been rather high this month, I took about a week to decide on some colours for a project and then another week to actually buy the yarn!!

This rather dark photo (Autumn is here!) shows my favourite project at the moment, the Litmus Cowl by Amy Florence. I am using this pattern to showcase all my colourways in knitting as I get asked a lot how different colourways knit up and/or work together. It's a really lovely repetitive and therefore therapeutic make so I have been reaching for it a lot recently. I am alternating my colours with undyed 4ply sock yarn, its so soft to work with and is knitting up to something reasonably substantial pretty fast.

Me and amigurumi do not get along no matter how hard I try to make friends! This fella is a pattern from Pica Pau, an amigurumi book I bought when I was pregnant in the hope that I would suddenly develop the skills and love for it to fill a nursery full of cute crochet toys! Needless to say it did not work out that way and this frog has gone unloved for a LONG time (originally meant to be completed before Henry was born!!). I posted this recently on Instagram and the shame of not finishing him for my child has been so high that I have dug him out of the bottom of my WIP basket.

Yep, this really is how far I've got on my Revival jumper in a month...the collection selection! My search for the perfect charcoal grey in my head really slowed me down as nowhere I looked really inspired me hugely. I have finally settled on a Scheepjes yarn that I'm currently waiting to arrive from Knitting Network so fingers crossed it fits the bill as I really really want to make and wear this this Winter.


Another project I am waiting on the yarn for is a new pattern brought out by Dear Ewe last week. The Come Bye Cowl caught my eye as soon as I saw it and I have already decided to make one as a Christmas present this year and one for myself too! My gift recipient has requested Autumnal reds and creams and I have picked out three gorgeous colours, I can't wait to get started on this pattern. I don't usually commit to handmade Christmas presents as I'm a bit of a meanie when it comes to making for other people...in fact I've already warned the recipient (my sister) that she may yet get a bought present!


So, that really is it for this month, apologies! I've spent a lot of my evenings recently trying to switch off from the day and for some reason lately that has not involved crochet/knitting. I'm hoping the Autumnal weather will kick start my making mojo again.


What are you working on this month? Have you got lots of Autumn items ready to wear? If so, how on earth do you do it!!?

x






bottom of page